Sol Horizon

“We honor the man who created the sound, values, and energy.”  –S.H.

In the green room, the most positive man is Michael Litwin. He is the front man and has the voice of a true Rastafarian. He is genuinely curious who I am and what I do. Happy is understated. He is extremely delighted to answer any of my eager questions.

He is talkative; he speaks highly and kindly of his band members, introducing me to all six, as they get ready to take on the stage. Litwin directly looks me into the eye while talking about how excited he is to perform. It seems like the room is shrinking and he is getting bigger. He is the positivity I want instilled in me.

What does reggae mean to you?

Michael Litwin: To inspire by music positivity, and follow the heart and dream.

Colin Menzies: All universals to come together. Real goodwill. Respect for differences. Becoming together for a shared purpose. It’s invigorating.

ML: It’s about feeling passion. Crying emotions come out from the core. It becomes you when you sing.

How did the energy feel? Vibes? Do you feel positivity?

ML: Yes, we take the higher road… a happy life. [CM nods]

During Sol Horizon’s performance, Litwin communicates with the audience from one side to the other side of the stage. His energy freely flows throughout the room as he makes eye contact. It’s 12:30am and the room of relaxed concert-goers are still swaying to guitar riffs. They are rowdy, cheering and chanting after Litwin’s lyrics, but it is not upsettingly annoying. Litwin never stops moving.

Aron Parks, the cool guy wearing a beanie, plays his bass guitar while he sips his beer. He seems to be enjoying the view from the back. This is his bliss. As the crowd sings along, everyone suddenly yells, “Happy Birthday Bob Marley!”

Litwin sees me at the front and gives me a high-five. In support of my new connections and attraction to reggae music, I felt the goodly vibes. Towards the end, I became less of a photographer, and in Litwin’s moment, I had to change modes to a listener and viewer. It was better that way.

Leave a Reply

